Skip navigation.
Print this page | Text size: Larger / Smaller

Planning Committee

The Planning Committee is a statutory consultee on town planning applications, strategic planning and infrastructure matters.  The Committee also considers issues such as the Mid Sussex Local Development Framework and West Sussex Structure Plan, public transport issues and reports and street naming.  The Committee makes recommendations to Mid Sussex District Council on planning applications.  Mid Sussex District Council, the Local Planning Authority, determines the applications. Click on the left hand links for more information on making a planning application, to support or object to an application, or to see a list of current applications.  

The Committee holds planning surgeries on the Saturday prior to their meetings.  A list of planning surgery dates can be accessed here - customers are welcome to raise any issues on planning applications in Burgess Hill and no appointment is necessary.  

Please view the meetings, agendas and minutes page to see when the next Planning meeting will be held or alternatively view the committees page for other Key Area Groups.

Committee Members

Steve Hansford             Chairman
Wendy Agate                Dunstall Ward
Chris Thomas-Atkin      Victoria Ward
Richard Cherry              St Andrew’s Ward
Julian Thorpe                Franklands Ward
Richard Cherry              Meeds Ward
Diane Heckels               Leylands Ward


For further information, please contact Kerry Campbell via email